Stripy Kirsten Kimono Tee

Honestly, this was finished on the 29th and worn on the 30th. It’s just taken a few days to photograph (and they are truly terrible photos due lack of skill and a house in the middle of renovations).

IMG_0223I’m really pleased with how this t-shirt has turned out. I graded out from the BL at the bust to BXXL at the hips and you can see it sits nicely (but loosely) on the bust but is very roomy all over. This is the look I was aiming for as I want to wear it with skinny jeans and prefer a looser top with tight trousers. I also made it a bit longer as again I like a bit of coverage with skinny jeans.

IMG_0230The fabric is lovely and soft and not at all bulky so even though it’s not that fitted it goes under a tighter cardigan no bother.

IMG_0233I really like the shape of this t-shirt and will probably make it again in plain block colours. I’m also thinking it would make a nice PJ top…

I got to christen my brand new overlocker (birthday pressie from my lush husband) and this was the first time I’ve ever used one. They’re kind of scary, aren’t they? But also amazing, I love the finish on the inside of this. It looks so much better than my previous efforts in jersey. I love that it came threaded as it meant I could start playing with it straight away. I used a twin needle for top stitching the hem, sleeves and neckline.

Happy days, item 1 of 2014 successfully completed.

A

One thought on “Stripy Kirsten Kimono Tee

  1. Pingback: Sailors and Elephants | Boom Stitch

Leave a Reply

