Sailors and Elephants

Right, catching up on a couple more makes. Last week I had some sort of lurgy that my husband kindly shared before he left for the week for work. I was stuck at home for 3 days on my own, feeling sorry for myself. So, between naps, I got on with some sewing.

SL372366

First up, my second Sorbetto.

SL372356

For this version, I raised the shoulder seams by an inch, lowered the bust darts an inch, increased the armholes by about half an inch, went up a size all over, lowered the hem by about 3 inches and gave it a curved hemline. Sounds like more work than it actually was though!

Overall the fit is much better and the length suits my long torso. I was thinking it’s maybe now too long… But it stays tucked into my trousers, even on the walk to work, which is definitely a good thing! Next time, I need to sort out a sway back adjustment, however, as there is a lot of spare fabric at the small of my back.

I cheated and used shop bought bias binding but decided to add it to the centre pleat to make it stand out against the busy print. Oh, and it’s lots of little marching elephants, makes me smile!

No idea what the photo face was about…

Secondly, another Kirsten Kimono t-shirt. I really like this pattern

SL372347

My 3rd version I think. I made this a size smaller than the stripy one from January and a couple of inches shorter. No idea what the fabric is but it was from Fabricland and has little red and navy anchors all over. It goes with pretty much everything and looks surprisingly smart with work trousers. I loves it. Every time I make one of these t-shirts I feel like I can actually sew 🙂

SL372361I also made a good start on the denim dress from my list so hopefully that’ll be finished next. I’m hoping to have enough things to participate in Me Made May so I need to get busy!

A

Leave a Reply

